jump to navigation

Random Thoughts of the Day — Freezer storage organization May 9, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I was cleaned out my chest freezer this morning a thought came to mind.  How do you keep a chest freezer organized and find the things at the bottom without taking everything out every so often?

We have always had a chest freezer.  As much as I love my dear friend Melissa, I have to admit that I am a little envious on how organized her upright freezer is and how easy it is to find everything.  So my mission today is to find a way to organize my chest freezer.  After all I have this amazing freezer that my fabulous husband purchased for me that is big and wonderful, so I might as well find a way to fall in love with this lovely freezer and be thankful that we have one, right?

The first thing that I did after cleaning it up was to turn it back on and start the getting cold process.  Then I found all of those lovely baskets and tried to organize my items into those baskets.  I even added some baskets from the dollar store to help with the task.  I didn’t label them but they look pretty close to what should go into them.  I will still have to “dig” a little for some of the items at the bottom but it should at least work better than having to take everything out of it every 6 months and flipping it so we don’t lose food at the bottom to freezer burn or just tossing items into the bottom and pray I find them when I need them.

Do you have a chest freezer or an upright?  What is your favorite way to organize them?  I love learning from others and thinking outside the box. So please share any ideas.  I know I have a long way to go to make it perfect but at least it was a good start.  Now I am off  to finish putting all the food back in the freezer and making it pretty.

Happy Freezing and Savings. 🙂

The Coupon Junkie – Mary

To see pictures of my organization in process follow this link: https://thecouponjunkie.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/freezer-pictures.pdf

Comments»

1. Stacy - May 9, 2012

I have an upright. I have shelves and one basket at the bottom for meat. I put and extra basket in the freezer basket to stand up packages like sausages and hot dogs. Then I try to lay everything flat on the shelves with the label facing out. Saves room and i can see most everything.

thecouponjunkie - May 9, 2012

I can see how that would really help with seeing everything and with it being a lot more organized. Thanks for sharing with us.


Leave a Reply

