jump to navigation

My Random Thoughts for today… April 19, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I was working on some future articles for our website, I realized that I am more than just savings with coupons.  It is about providing for my family without breaking the bank and being realistic about spending.  I can still get good quality without spending a house payment on something that I want.

This really hit home as we are redoing/redecorating my girls’ room.  There were several things that they wanted that we could easily make for pennies on the dollars verses what we would pay to bring home the ones that were just ready to use.  Yes, it is a little more work but sometimes great lessons can be taught at the same time.

As I think about spending it isn’t about coupons, although they do help save a lot on my groceries and household consumables.  But I am also a big fan of garage sales, craiglist, ebay and theft stores.  I also grew up this way.  There was not always a lot of extra money going around growing up so I learned to sew, cook from scratch, can veggies and things from my grandma, shop garage sales and how to shop the sales and look for quality.

For me, I think The Coupon Junkie is more about empowering people to take control of their money than it is about using coupons, although it is a large part of it.   As life throws us new challenges, it is always good to think outside of the box.  So as I have asked before “Who wants your money more?”   Here is to being frugal and being proud of it.

Comments»

1. free itunes card codes - June 17, 2012

After looking at a handful of the blog posts on your website, I honestly appreciate
your technique of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark website list and will be
checking back soon. Take a look at my web site too and let
me know your opinion.


Leave a Reply

