jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Project — A Craft Girl Gift April 18, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project — DIY Gift idea for Girls

My oldest daughter just competed State with gymnastic.  She did great. 🙂  One of the things that the parents did for all the girls on our team was create a State bag to celebrate all that they had done this year and how far they had come since the beginning of the season.  I needed to come up with an idea that I could make for each girl.

 

So off to Pinterest land I went in search of a cute and easy gift idea.   After all I needed to make 15 of these lovely little things. I came up with this Pinterest Pin for make-up brush holder but to use chap-sticks or lipgloss instead.  After all the girls are 7-11 years old.

 

Since the link didn’t have directions attached, I had to come up with it from the top of my head.  It was in that moment that I have to say I am glad my mom taught me the basics of sewing and that she answered when I called to ask her opinion of my solution. Aren’t moms the great?

 

Need:  Fabric, lipgloss or whatever you are putting in the pockets, sewing machine, thread, scissors and ribbon

 

Cost:

Fabric: This will depend on how many you are making and what fabric you pick.  You can always use your coupons for the craft stores to save on this. 🙂  I used what I had on hand in the team colors.  So I didn’t have to pay out of pocket for it.  Plus the fabric I had on hand was thanks to my mom who cleaned out her sewing room before she moved across the country.  Did I mention that my mom rocks? If not, this is her official shout out.  (Which she probably will not read.)

Lipgloss or whatever:  I got mine from Party Galaxy for less than a dollar for a four pack.

Sewing machine: Already had.  Did I mention that I grew up sewing?

Scissors:  Already had on hand.

Ribbon:  I matched the colors of the fabric and the ribbon.  I was able to get it for half off with a sale that Hobby Lobby was having.  It is a good thing ribbon is on sale often.

Thread:  I didn’t get this on sale.  My dear sweet better half got it for me on his way home from work, since I had grabbed the wrong stuff.

Letters:  I know that was not on the list above.  But I decided to personalize it by putting the girl’s initials on it.  I was able to use a coupon.  I used one pack for all the girls and paid $2.50 for those.

 

Directions:

I used solid pink on one side and black and white striped on the other.  I cut each piece about 5 x 6.

Placing the the outside of the fabric together, I sewed a simple straight stitch and then turned it inside outside.

Sew a top stick all around the rectangle of fabric.

Then I folded up the bottom of the square about 1 1/2  inches.  I sewed a straight stitch on the two edges to seal the pocket up.

Then I divided the fabric into four pockets and sewed three straight stitches all the way up to create the pockets. When  was making the middle stitch  I pinned the ribbon on and sewed it on at the same time.  I didn’t sew the ribbon with the other two pocket stitches.

Then iron on the letters per instructions on package of iron on letters.

Finally, we placed the lip glosses in and tied the things with a pretty bow.

 

Forgive me for the lovely directions for those that are amazing at it, I dabble in it at best.   It was a simple project and the girls loved it.  I would say they were a big hit.  My middle girl is wanting to know if I will make some for her recital in May.  I am thinking I would.  One thing that I did not mention is that I used two different colors of thread.  This worked well for the stitches to show up on the solid pink that I used.

 

So, until the next Frugal Pinterest Project, happy savings and creating.

 

 

 

A picture of my finished project.  🙂     https://thecouponjunkie.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/lipstick-pouches.pdf

 

Pinterest link: http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578665347/

No original link to this.

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

