jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Projects Make Butterfinger April 10, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project Makes Homeamade Butterfinger

 

I will be the first one to admit that I have a huge sweet tooth and if you really love me, you will give me chocolate of some sort.  I also love Butterfinger candy bars flavor but not really big on the crunchiness of the candy bar.

 

So when I can across the recipe for it on Pinterest I kind of did a small happy dance.  It was one I had to try.  I was a little surprised by the main ingredient.

 

What you need:

1 lb. candy corn

16oz jar peanut butter

16oz pkg. chocolate candy coating

 

What you need to do:

Melt candy corn in microwave on high 1 minute. Stir and continue cooking in 15-second intervals until melted, stirring after each interval. Stir in peanut butter. Spread mixture in an 8×8 pan lined with parchment. Cool completely. Cut into squares. Dip in melted chocolate candy coating. Lay on waxed paper to set.

 

Cost: 

Peanut Butter:  You can use any brand.  I used Planters Creamy Natural because it is what I had on hand.  It retails for $3.59 a jar.  I caught it on sale and used a coupon, so I paid about $1.00 a jar.  I did a great big happy dance.

Chocolate:  I used chocolate chips that I melted and tempered.  They are running about $2.75- $3.00each.  I got them on sale at Christmas time for about $1.00 each.

Candy Corn: Since I made this in March, there was not a sale or coupon for this wonderful sweet treat.  I was able to get this at Wal-mart in the dollar candy row for $1.00.

Total cost: $3.00 if you are able to get some sweet deals like I did or about $7.50.  I know the last number comes as a little of sticker shock but don’t worry just keep this in the back of your mind until it goes on sales and then make it. You will not be disappointed.

 

The first batch that I made didn’t even make it to the chocolate stage. It was that yummy just by itself.  The girls loved it that way too.  The second batch was a great hit all the same.  I will say it is softer and less crunchy then the store bought kind but do it give it a try for yourself.  Let us know what you think.

 

Hope you find this information helpful and money saving.  Until our next Frugal Pinterest Project.  Happy Pinning and Savings 🙂

 

Pinterst link:  http://pinterest.com/pin/86694361546396544/

Original link:  http://www.plainchicken.com/2010/11/homemade-butterfingers.html

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

