jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Project – Cooks Homemade Cheez-It April 4, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project — Time to cook….. Cheez-It

 

After trying many recipes that I found on Pinterest.com I decided it was time to tell you about my adventures in the kitchen.  When I am looking for a recipe here lately it is all about finding one that shows me how to make a family favorite that used to come in the freezer section or in a box in the snack row of my local grocery store.

 

From this I came across Homemade Cheez-it.  I wasn’t sure exactly how it would come out but I tried it anyway.

What you need:

8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, coarsely shredded

½ stick unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup all purpose flour

2 tablespoons ice water

What you do: 

Step one: In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, mix the cheddar, butter, and salt until soft and combined. Add the flour and mix on low speed (the dough will be dry and pebbly). Slowly add the water and continue to mix as the dough forms a ball.

Step Two: Pat the dough into a disk, wrap tightly with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least an hour.  Preheat the oven to 375˚F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Step Three:  Divide the dough into two pieces and roll each into a very thin (1/8 inch or less) 10 x 12-inch rectangle. Using a fluted pastry cutter or sharp knife, cut the rectangles into 1-inch squares, then transfer to the baking sheets. Use the tip of a chopstick to punch a hole into the center of each square.

Step Four: Bake for 15-17 minutes or until puffed and browning at the edges. Watch carefully, as the high fat content of the crackers makes it a fine line between golden delicious and burnt. Immediately move the crackers to racks to cool.

Cost:

Butter —  If you are using real butter, which I would recommend highly it is about 4.00 for a four stick box.  I lucked out.  Butter was on sale for 1.99 and I had a .50 off coupon that doubled.  Since I only use one stick I spent $0.25 on the butter. (Like my Mary Math?)

Cheese – Cheese is running about $2.25 for 8 oz if you can’t find it on sale.  Aldi’s had this on sale for $0.99 for the 8 oz.  I stocked up and even put some in the freezer.  (Yeah me).  So the cheese was $0.99

Flour — Flour is running about $3.50 for a four pound bag, since you are only using one cup, the cost is $0.44.  I make my own flour and it comes out to be about $0.40 a pound.  I used 1 cup or 8 oz which comes out to be about $0.20.

Water-  Was from my refrigerator so it was nice and cold.

TOTAL Cost:  If you have to pay full price your cost out of pocket would be about $3.75

For me the cost was about $1.45.

 

Although if you have to buy the ingredient at full price you are not saving much money if any at all if you find a sale and a coupon.  But if you are able to get the items on sale you are saving some money.  For me it is more about being able to eat this fun treat without having all the other stuff in the boxed stuff from the store.

 

We keep these is a ziplock bag in the panty, if they last that long.  These are so easy to make my seven year old has made them.

 

Hope you find this information helpful and money saving.  Until our next Frugal Pinterest Project.  Happy Pinning and Savings 🙂

 

Pinterest link:  http://pinterest.com/pin/264375440595526961/

Original link:  http://achowlife.com/2012/02/on-baiting-homemade-cheez-its.html

 

Comments»

1. Sonicare Toothbrush - April 13, 2012

Right here is the right site for anyone who really wants to
find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough
to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic which
has been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just
wonderful!

thecouponjunkie - May 9, 2012

Thank you 🙂


Leave a Reply

