jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Project — A Break from the Everyday April 4, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project Break From the Everyday— 

 

With Spring in the air, I thought it might be fun to do some project with the girls that I had pinned on Pinterest.com in hopes that one day we could just have some amazing cheap fun.  So today and for the next few times we are going to do a few of the activities for and with the kiddos.  I will give you my few and also tell you what the girls thought of this. 🙂  Keep in mind my children are 7,5 and 3.

 

First off, I love a good messy activity as long as it is cleaned up when it is all said and done.  Some of my favorite memories with my siblings were messy activities so bring on the mess.  So when I saw this pin for “Elephant Toothpaste”  It looked like a great bigs messy science experiment I was like OH yeah, this will be fun and educational 🙂

 

Elephant Toothpaste is a science experiment that takes the vinegar and baking soda from when I was a kid to the next level.

What you need:

A pop bottle 20-24 oz empty, a cookie sheet (take my word for it, you will need this) or big pot, 3% hydrogen peroxide, liquid dishwashing soap, warm water, food coloring (optional but makes you be able to see the reaction very well), and one packet of yeast.

 

What to do:

Step one: Dissolve yeast in warm water and stir well.  Use just enough to water to make a pourable liquid.  Let it sit for about 5 minutes while you get the rest of the stuff for the experiment ready.

 

Step two:  Pour 1/2 cup of hydrogen peroxide and 1/4 cup dishwashing soap and a drop or two of food coloring into the bottle. Kind of swirl the mixture and then put bottle in the middle of the cookie sheet or pan. You can even do this in the sink if you would like.

 

Step three:  Pour the yeast solution into the bottle.  A funnel can help, but you will need to pour pretty quickly and be able to remove it before the reaction starts.

 

Step four:  Watch the fun!!

 

Be sure to ask the kids questions and what they think will happen and why they think it happen. If you know there will not be in reaction to the soap or peroxide, you can always let the kids explore the texture of it.  I had to be careful with this because I wasn’t sure how my sweet middle kiddo would do. Since we know she can’t do red food coloring we just picked a different color.  She did fine and had fun exploring the mess.  I did have my kids where aprons because I wasn’t sure how the food coloring would wash out if it happened to get on their clothing.

 

This is an exothermic reaction so it should be warm and it will produce a little heat but not enough to burn. It is a great discussion point as well.

 

Overall opinion: I was expecting it to foam, more than it bubbled. But it was fun to watch the girls’ reaction and talk to them about why they thought and watch their minds in actions.   It is one thing that was great for the rainy day (although I didn’t plain for the rainy day when doing it, but it was an added bonus.

 

Girls opinion: It was good and fun.  Because it has hydrogen peroxide in it, one of children said it would “heal all the booboos that she has.”  The reactions on their face as  they watched it “explode” was priceless.  They can’t wait to show Daddy.

 

Cost:

Hydrogen peroxide is about 1.00 or less.  But you will not use the whole bottle unless you do this many times.

Pop bottle:  I used an empty water bottle that I had on hand.

Yeast:  If you don’t have some on hand it is about $1.25 for the generic at most big chain stores.  You will have three packets. So loads of fun to come. I had some on hand that I paid less than a $1 for the one I had in the stockpile.  Got to love coupons and sale match ups.

Food coloring:  I had on hand from last Easter when I got it FREE with coupon and sale matchup:

Water:  From the tap.

Dishwashing soap:  You can find on sale for around $1.00 and most major brands will also have coupons.  I paid $0.35 for the one I had in my stockpile.  I didn’t use the whole jar.

Cost for me: about $1.00 since I didn’t use all of anything that I had.

If you had to go out and buy all of the consumable items it will be about $3 but you could do this more than one time.  🙂

 

This is a messy but fun experiment.  My kids love experiments, especially they ones we can do over and over again.  I can see this becoming one of those.    Hope you find this information helpful and money saving.  Until our next Frugal Pinterest Project.  Happy Pinning and Savings 🙂

 

Link from Pinterest to : http://preschoolpowolpackets.blogspot.com/2012/01/science-experiment-elephant-toothpaste.html

Pinterest link: http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578291682/

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

