jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Project – Swiffer Wet Jet March 19, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project Makes Swiffer Even Better

I have a love affair with my Swiffer wet jet.  It happened about two years ago when I was able to stack a Target store coupon for $10 off with a manufacture coupon for $5 off and paid $3 for this lovely creation.I think I actually bought 4 for other people and gave them as gifts.  At first I thought I would use this from time to time to do touch up mopping, between big cleaning.  I have since found out that I use it a lot to spot mop, that will put off my big cleaning.  Yea me. I also love not having to do the mop bucket and hard cleaning. But what I also noticed is that those little pads run about $0.50 or a box of 12 for about $6 to $6.50.  I was using one for each of the four areas in my home that have to be mopped each time.  That adds up quickly to being on the line of crazy.  Then there is the cleaner at $5.50 a bottle that can add up too.  You can get a coupon for both the cleaner and the pads but most of the time the coupon is only for $0.50 or $1.00 off.  That is not much savings.  We will not even get into the non-green factor and the waste of the pads but my floor is child’s play, literally.  My children love to mop.  Can you imagine how quickly I can go through a bottle of spray if my children are helping? Oh my.

In my search of Pinterest I came across the DIY Swiffer cleaning pads.  A lightbulb came on when I saw the pins for the first time.  I thought I was going to have to disown my Swiffer and go back to old school in order to do less chemicals, less waste and less cost.  There have been several pins on how to make your own pads out of several different types of materials.  If you don’t have the sewing ability there are also several different pins that you can find different people that will sell you some that they have made like on http://www.etsy.com/.

What you need: 

Velco, terry cloth/miscofiber, sewing machine, scissors and thred and pins

What to do: 

Step 1: Cut the material.

Step 2: Sew the edges.

Step 3: Sew the velco on.

Step 4: Attach to your Swiffer and fall in love with it all over again.

I have over simplified the steps but this is a great on-line tutorial on making your own: http://lookmanopatterns.blogspot.com/2009/09/how-to-make-your-swiffer-less-evil.html .  This is where the Pinterest link will take you.  I can’t do it justice even if I wanted to.

I will tell you though that I used an old towel to make mine. I got seven pads out of one towel.  One of the reasons that I used an old towel was that I know the terry cloth would not shrink because it was already well loved and washed.  Also terry that is washed just seems to do so much better. Second it was still good for using to repurpose especially since I had already replaced it in the bathroom with new ones.  I was going to make dust rags or something else out of it so why not clean my floors with it.

Cost to make the Swiffer Wet Jet pads:

Cloth: I used towels I had on hand.  You can also use the microfiber towels from the Dollar store.  You can get one and half out of it.

Velcro:  I got mine at Wal-mart and for all seven pads had to use two hanks of the stuff.  It was about .96 each.

Machine and thread:  already had

Total Cost:  $2.00 for 7 pads that I can wash and use again and again and again and again.  You get the idea.

The next step that I did was to make a solution and to refill my Swiffer Wet Jet bottle. I know I had to save on both parts of the Wet Jet and not just the pads.  So I wanted to know if I can refill the bottle.  If you have tried to just simply take off the lid by turning it you will know what I mean when I say good luck with that.  I did find this link that gives the 411 on how it is done. Link on how to take off your lid of solution bottles: http://lifehacker.com/5717409/refill-your-swifter-wet-jet-no-special-tools-required  It was so easy and only took seconds.  I didn’t even have to cut into the bottle.  Once that was done I then made my own green solution.  You can choose to use a cleaner like the Lysol Floor cleaner that you happen to get on sale and mix 1/4 cup water and fill the rest with water, put the lid back on and call it ready to use. But because I am also in need of taking extra chemical out of our home for one of my daughter’s health I made the cleaner.  In addition to being chemical free it is also cheaper.

What you need:

Old Swiffer bottle, vinegar, water and rubbing alcohol.

Optional:  Essential oils of lemon or orange (this is for that clean smell), Tea Tree oil (great for disinfecting floors, for instance if you have been sick, add a few drops)

What to do:

Step 1: Pour about half way with white vinegar.

Step 2: Fill rest of the way with water.

Step 3: Use a splash of rubbing alcohol. This will kill anything and keep things from growing that you don’t want there.

Step 4: Add optional ingredience if you would like.  The essential oils just add a smell.

Step 5:  Replace lid.  Put in Swiffer and fall in love all over again with your wonderful machine and how much you have saved.

Cost for Swiffer Wet Jet Solution:  

Water: From tap

Vinegar: A small bottle of vinegar at the large chain stores is about $1.00.  During the summer months there are coupon for vinegar and I was able to use some from my stock pile that I paid $0.35 for the bottle.  I only used less than half of it.

Alcohol:  This is 1.00 or less.  You are just using a splash so it is only a few pennies. I was able to score a deal for  $0.50 a bottle at Dollar General.

TOTAL COST:  For me I paid less than $0.90 but will be able to refill at least 2 maybe three times.  So about $0.45 to make this.  If I had paid full price we are still about $1.00 per bottle. That is a saving of at least $4 if you used a coupon.  If you opt to use the essential oils or the tea tree oil this will add to your cost but both should last you a while since you are using so little per bottle.

I love the going green no chemical version of the cleaner and I love the fact that I will not have to buy pads again. So excited that Pinterest helped me keep my Swiffer Wet Jet and my money both at the same time.  This is one Frugal Pinterest project that  I know I will continue to use for a long time.  Hope you find this information helpful and money saving.  Until our Frugal Pinterest Project.  Happy Pinning and Savings 🙂

Pinterest link for DIY Wet Jet pads: http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578342849/

Pinterest link for refilling your Swiffer bottle of solution: http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578342855/

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

