jump to navigation

Frugal Pinterest Project – Mom and Grad gift ideas on a dime May 12, 2012

Posted by thecouponjunkie in Uncategorized.
trackback

Frugal Pinterest Project   DIY Gifts that Speak Volumes

I love the time of year where spring is in the air.  The weather is cool in the morning and warm in the afternoons.  I love the fresh feeling and seeing the flowers grow outside.  There is just something about this time that screams fresh starts.  Then when I stop to think about why it came to me that since everything is new and bloom.  You see people come out of the winter stupor and are ready to face the world.  Seniors are getting ready to graduate and start lives fresh.  I just love this time of year.  Kids are getting excited for the end of the school year.  The list could go on and on.

 

This is my inspiration for today’s Frugal Pinterest Project.   So with so many things to celebrate we are going to start with Graduation.  Whether it be for a high school senior or college senior, hopefully you will find one that will work for you.

 

The first idea that I found that I thought was most amazing and easy was a picture frame that says “In Case of Emergency Break Glass”.  Inside there are two $20 bills.  Depending on what amount you want to give you can always give more or less.  It is a creative way to give money.  I am so going to do this for my niece when she graduates in the next few weeks.  Shhh… don’t tell her.  The Pinterest link is http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578620180/  but the original link to this is http://www.createmyevent.com/2011/05/in-an-emergency-graduation-gift.html.  There is even a printable link so you can just print the background and insert the money into the frame.  The lady from the original link says to use a frame from the dollar store if you don’t have an old one on hand.  I think that is a great idea.  I can just see the money coming out and the frame going in the trash.

 

Another great idea that I found is what I call the “Rainy Day Fun” or “Showering of love”.   You take an inexpensive umbrella (Dollar Tree has some). Cut curly ribbon to different lengths.  Use double sided sticky tape and tape either bills, gift cards (could be to their favorite lunch spots, Starbucks, where they buy CD/DVD, gas cards, itunes cards)  The ideas are endless on gift cards.  Then tie the strings all over the underside of the umbrella.  Turn the umbrella upside down and place each string and item inside and (carefully) close the umbrella. Wrap the umbrella.  The fun part of this comes when the person being celebrated opens the umbrella.  You will probably be looked at as if you have twelve heads when you suggest they open it to make sure it works correctly and everything is showered upon them. I can see this gift being good for many other occasions besides graduation.  Father’s Day, teen birthdays, weddings and birthday gifts for that hard to buy for person.  Even the options to put inside are endless, just depends on what you want to spend and who you are giving it too.  The Pinterest link http://pinterest.com/pin/116952921543391038/

Original link http://aolsearcht6.search.aol.com/aol/imageDetails?s_it=imageDetails&q=graduation+gift+ideas&img=http%3A%2F%2Fseasonalhome.files.wordpress.com%2F2009%2F05%2Fbd_21st-birthday-gift-2_a.jpg&v_t=tb50-ff-customfirefoxright-tbsbox-en-us&host=http%3A%2F%2Fseasonalhome.wordpress.com%2Fcategory%2Fgraduation%2F&width=183&height=136&thumbUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fimages-partners-tbn.google.com%2Fimages%3Fq%3Dtbn%3AANd9GcTq4OLldLzkuHwdZJ-EUILZ9uvU1MyLZE_f8VM8r-4Y9jHmAZoedHV8CWne%3Aseasonalhome.files.wordpress.com%2F2009%2F05%2Fbd_21st-birthday-gift-2_a.jpg&b=image%3Fpage%3D3%26v_t%3Dtb50-ff-customfirefoxright-tbsbox-en-us%26q%3Dgraduation%2Bgift%2Bideas%26s_it%3Dsearchtabs%26oreq%3D83fad70d10e144a681931d99aac6f509%26oreq%3Df174132479ec4bd8bd40bed8e8d44853&imgHeight=384&imgWidth=512&imgTitle=for+Graduate%2C+Gift+Idea%2C&imgSize=40666&hostName=seasonalhome.wordpress.com

 

The second part of this Frugual Pinterest Project has to do with moms. So off I went on Pinterest you can search of a project.  You can search for ideas that you are looking for with just generic words if you would like.  I went in search of that fresh start feeling with celebrating Moms for Mother’s Day.  I know I am a month early but I didn’t want to over look it or be caught off guard or that  “Oh stink! Mother’s Day is in three days” feeling.  For me it also seems that I always get my mom the same thing every year.  So this year even if I get her the same thing I would like to be done in an interesting way, at least.

 

So I thought I would start with this pin  http://pinterest.com/pin/16818198578612881/.  It is taking a small can of fruit like the ones from Del monte with the pop top lid that are great from lunches and cover it with a cute scrapbook paper and filling it with treats for your mom.  What you do is open the can from the bottom.  Yes, I said from the bottom.  Empty the fruit out to have for lunch or snack or something, wash and dry out the can.  Using tissue paper and goodies stuff the can.  (This is the tricky part) Put or glue the bottom back on the can.  When you turn it over it and you have a can that will totally surprise the person who is receiving it.  The blog where this can from  http://www.ourbestbites.com/2011/04/tin-can-treats-for-mothers-day/ does a great job of giving you a step by step detailed guide complete with pictures.  I actually used a large Dole Pineapple can as my gift container.  I wanted to put  more in my can.  A gift card to my mom’s favorite sewing store would fit in the big one but not in the small one.

 

My mom is a big a big coffee and tea drinker. So What I thought I would fill a either an insulated cup with straw with some of her favorite cold teas or a hot travel cup with some of her favorite teas and tea stirrers.  But I saw on Pinterest http://pinterest.com/pin/119345458845482595/ these coffee cozies.  This blog gives you a http://craftystaci.com/2011/01/10/reversible-coffee-cup-sleeves/ a step by step guide.  I know that this is a little on the crafty side but I am sure my mom will love this.  I even thought about adding the DIY Shaped Sugar Cubes http://pinterest.com/pin/222576406553445525/ from http://www.niftythriftythings.com/2011/06/diy-sugar-cubes.html to the inside of the cups.  They are fun and very easy to do.  My girls loved helping me with the sugar cubes.  I think they even sampled more than we made.

 

I hope that you have enjoyed this Frugal Pinterest ideas and that they have inspire some creative juices for this fresh spring feeling of gift giving.  Until the next Frugal Pinterest project… Happy savings and creating.

Comments»

1. näsplastik - January 31, 2013

I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article
like yours. It’s pretty price enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet will be much more helpful than ever before.

thecouponjunkie - March 19, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Hope you find some helpful information.

2. http://www.myscarygames.com/ - February 15, 2013

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.
I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

3. website - March 19, 2013

Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like
to send you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

thecouponjunkie - March 19, 2013

The information to contact us is under the Follow Us/Contact Us tab. info@thecouponjunkie.com is our email address.

4. mysurvey - April 8, 2013

Hi there colleagues, nice article and fastidious arguments commented at this place,
I am truly enjoying by these.

thecouponjunkie - April 8, 2013

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the visit. :)

5. Mannheim Kindergeburtstag - April 16, 2013

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn a
lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

thecouponjunkie - April 16, 2013

Thanks for the visit. If there is anything you would like to see, let us know.

6. body champ inversion table - April 19, 2013

Hi to every single one, it’s in fact a pleasant for me to go to see this website, it consists of precious Information.

7. linuxclube.com.br - April 19, 2013

Greetings, I believe your site could possibly be having browser compatibility problems.
When I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues.
I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!
Other than that, great blog!

8. slap the guru money making business - April 19, 2013

I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your
information. Your article has really peaked my interest.
I will book mark your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.
I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

thecouponjunkie - April 22, 2013

Thanks for the heads up. We will check to see what is going on.

9. Milan - April 27, 2013

Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for?
you make running a blog glance easy. The entire glance of your site is wonderful, let alone the content material!

10. cure for copd - April 28, 2013

Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as
I provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate
it!

11. Look At Here - May 6, 2013

Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
Does building a well-established website such as yours require a massive amount work?
I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal on a
daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

12. Otis - May 9, 2013

Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this web site is actually good and the people are genuinely sharing nice thoughts.

13. raigecreations.blogspot.com - May 11, 2013

It’s great that you’ve taken the hard work to help those out there who are seeking out resources
on this subject. Your sincere commitment to getting the answer out
there looks to be incredibly useful and has allowed college students much like
me to arrive at their goals. Your valuable help and advice will mean
a lot to me and much more to my peers.

thecouponjunkie - May 12, 2013

Thanks so much for the visit and I am so glad it is helpful.

14. Ronnie - May 22, 2013

Good webpage you have got here.

15. Shelli - May 26, 2013

I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create
my very own blog and would like to learn where you got this from or
exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

16. Is Provillus Better Than Rogaine - June 17, 2013

continuously i used to read smaller articles that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which
I am reading now.

thecouponjunkie - August 2, 2013

thanks for the kind words and for the visit

17. proxy.ps - July 20, 2013

What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily,
this site is truly fastidious and the visitors are truly sharing nice thoughts.

thecouponjunkie - August 2, 2013

Thanks for the visit and kind words


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

